California Gun Laws is a guide to state and federal firearm regulations written by C.D. Michel, Attorney at Law, ISBN #978-0-9884602-0-1 and costs $24.95.
If you have a gun in California this book could keep you out of jail, it is full of information on California and Federal regulations as to when, where and how a firearm can be used in this state. It covers who can posses, which guns are banned, how to carry in public, when deadly force can be applied. Naturally this is a general firearm laws book, not just for hunters, but clarifies many of the laws that pertain to hunters, such as the Federal Form 4473 and the DROS (California Dealers Record of Sale) forms.
One of the issues that concern hunters might be for example the transfer of a gun from one person to another, which must be carried out by an FFL. Another is the need for the FFL to complete form 3310.4 in the case of a person transferring multiple handguns between two parties.
Most people already know that there is a 10 day waiting period from when the DROS form is submitted, before you can actually pick up the firearm, however a new law going into effect that you may not be aware of is that as of January 1, 2014, long guns purchased from or transferred through a dealer are required to be registered at the time of transfer, the same as the current handgun law.
Another tidbit of information is the requirements to buy a firearm:
Must be 21 to purchase a handgun
Must be 18 for any non-handgun
Evidence of identity, either a valid California drivers license, or identification card issued by the DMV. If in the case that someone has a P.O. Box on their Drivers license, you must present a valid government issued identification document that has your name, picture, DOB, and residence address. Other documents that can be used in cinjunction to the DL according to ATF 2001 are vehicle registration, fishing or hunting license, voter identification card, or a tax bill. More on the ATF ruling can be found here
The book points out that possession of a firearm loaded or unloaded within 1000ft of a school zone may be a felony with mandatory jail time. School zone is to include universities.
The book points to “Frequently asked questions” that can be answered by going to the DOJ website here.
Where one can find gems such as this: As long as an adult child receiving a firearm from a parent is not in a prohibited category, pdf and the firearm is a legal firearm to possess, the transfer of a firearm between a parent and child or a grandparent and grandchild is exempt from the dealer transfer requirement. However, if the firearm is a handgun, you must submit a Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Handgun Transaction, pdf and $19 fee to the DOJ within 30 days. Assault weapons may not be transferred in this fashion.
The above is just a sampling of the immense amount of data that this book contains.
So, if you want to ensure that you are complying with California and Federal regulations this is book could be what you need, and is recommended for every shooter, hunter in California, and should be on everyone’s bookcase as a reference book.