Although vodka is traditionally made from grains such as wheat, barley, or rye, there is an ever expanding list of alternative vodkas made from potatoes, corn, or grapes available for consumers who have celiac disease.
Some will try to convince you that the gluten is distilled out of grain based vodkas that are on the higher end of the cost spectrum, however many have also gotten sick anyway. So the best advice is to stick with these non-grain based vodkas that are readily available these days.
Tito’s handmade vodka-Tito’s is from Texas and made from corn. In their own company statement: “Tito’s is made from 100% corn and as a distilled spirit, is completely gluten-free. It’s an important thing for us, and we actually include “GLUTEN-FREE” in lots of our materials and on the website so people can make informed choices.”
Smirnoff vodka-This vodka is distilled from corn and their regular vodka is safe. However watch out for their ice beverages that come in six-packs because they contain malt and are not gluten-free.
Luksusowa vodka-Meaning “luxurious” in Polish, this vodka is reportedly the top selling potato vodka in the world according to W.J. Deutch & Sons. A plus is they only make potato vodka so there is no risk for cross-contamination.
Glacier vodka– This vodka is made in Idaho from potatoes, but they do make grain based vodkas in the same facility so you know if you’re concerned about cross-contamination.
DiVine vodka– Made from grapes in a winery in Michigan and this distillery does not produce any gluten grains.
Famous vodka– This vodka is made from Idaho russets with no gluten grains, but with water from the Snake River in Idaho. In addition to regular they also make rose-flavored vodka infused with rose extract.
Monopolowa vodka– This potato based vodka originated in Poland but is now distilled in Austria.
Chopin vodka– Very high end vodka distilled in three varieties, potato, wheat or rye. So check that you are getting the potato version which comes in a black cap and lettering.
Cold River vodka-Coming from Maine, this potato vodka comes in two flavors: regular and blueberry made with real Maine wild blueberries.
Blue-Ice vodka– Again this company makes two versions, potato, and wheat. The blue bottle contains the potato version.